The Consequences of Bad Decisions

Football Championship Subdivision discussions
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 20199
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:24 pm
I am a fan of: Sac State
Location: Twentynine Palms, CA

The Consequences of Bad Decisions

Post by SuperHornet »

This constant shifting of teams has led some conferences to the brink of destruction. That is, they won't have enough teams for the next few years to claim an auto-bid. To combat that, we're going to see more of what started last year with the WAC-ASUN Alliance. That was originally a one-year deal, but further shifting has led the two conferences to renew it. We will also see similar alliances between the Big South and the OVC. The Southland and the OVC have an OOC scheduling alliance of sorts, but it won't have playoff implications.

Here's why:

WAC: 3 playoff-eligible teams in 2022 (SHSU to FBS and Dixie State/Utah Tech and Tarleton State are still transitioning to FCS). Those two transitions will end in 2024, but the WAC will still have only five playoff eligible schools. The worries officially end (kind of) when TX-Rio Grand Valley joins in 2025.

OVC: Austin Peay and Murray State leave, while D-II call-up Lindenwood joins. Only five playoff-eligible teams 2023-2025 because Lindenwood won't be playoff-eligible until 2026.

MEAC: They don't care because of the Celebration Bowl, but the loss of Bethune-Cookman and FL A&M still hurts. They are down to six teams.

Big South: Lost SIX schools in the last two years. The addition of Bryant gets them into the playoffs by the skin of their teeth with six teams. But that drops to five next year when NC A&T leaves.

ASUN: Five teams left in 2023 when Jax State goes to the FBS. But that's only true because they just poached Kennesaw State and North Alabama from the Big South.

Pending FBS Departures

James Madison CAA to FBS Independent 2022, Sun Belt 2023
Jacksonville State begins FBS transition 2022 (still in ASUN, but not eligible for playoffs), FBS Independent 2023, C-USA later
Sam Houston State begins FBS transition 2022 (still in WAC, but not eligible for playoffs), FBS Independent 2023, C-USA later

D-II Call-Ups

TX A&M-Commerce: Lone Star Conference to Southland
Lindenwood: Great Lakes Valley Conference to OVC
Stonehill: Northeast 10 to NEC

Other odd news: the SoCon has doubled its exit fee to $2M. Wow.... ... ne-article

SuperHornet's Athletics Hall of Fame includes Jacksonville State kicker Ashley Martin, the first girl to score in a Division I football game. She kicked 3 PATs in a 2001 game for J-State.
Post Reply