Political discussions
kalm
Supporter
Supporter
I am a fan of: Eastern
A.K.A.: Humus The Proud

Home Ownership vs. Renting

Post by kalm »

Is owning your own home still a part of the American Dream?
Should it be? Without reading the details of the proposal, does well functioning capitalism that serves a strong middle class and democracy require some regulation here?

I think so.

kalm
Supporter
Supporter
I am a fan of: Eastern
A.K.A.: Humus The Proud

Re: Home Ownership vs. Renting

Post by kalm »

clenz
Moderator Team
Moderator Team

Home Ownership vs. Renting

Post by clenz »

I’m not sure I’ll actually own anytime soon. I’ve been renting for 3 years and the idea I’ll ever home is further away than it was when I moved out post divorce with $105 in my bank account.

What I can afford is dog shit that needs 3 times what I’d pay for the house in repairs/upgrades and there is a 95% chance it’s in a neighborhood I wouldn’t want to live in anyway.

Pretty great to work for one of the largest mortgage lending CUs in the Midwest, on the mortgage side of things, and be renting because of interest rates and housing prices.

Hell, even at this point renting is getting fucking stupid. I moved into a 2 bedroom apartment in a decent enough complex at the low income rate because I could use my kids to qualify for the income threshold. At this point I no longer qualify for that and my rent has gone up $300 in the last year and a half but it’s still half the price of any other place I’d be willing to look at renting. I get COL in Iowa is cheap compared to most places but I’m not paying 1500+utilities to fucking rent a 3 bed 1 bath apartment or condo.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
UNI88
Supporter
Supporter
I am a fan of: UNI

Post by UNI88 »

Let's add the impact of laws, regulations, and fees meant to protect the environment by discouraging development on affordable housing.